H.pylori & Me – The Journey Begins!

by archeophysics

IMG_0637

I got the blood test results today: I’m positive for H.pylori infection. Rats.

I know you’re probably wondering why I’m not more upset about this. I think it’s because I did all of that research (both on the open net and using my university’s research resources) and know that this thing is treatable, one way or another. I’m going to figure out the way that works for me. (And in the meantime I get to eat super healthy, exercise, and feel really good as a result! How’s that for a deal?)

I’ve already seen my energy levels rise, my mood and general state of mind become more calm/happy, and the majority of my symptoms abate just from changing my diet and doing yoga consistently for the last couple of days in preparation for the arrival of the supplements. Seriously guys, clean up your diet. Your body will be overjoyed. Things I’ve cut out (temporarily, for the next three months): gluten, dairy, soy, most sugars, and red meat. (It’s important to note that I won’t be living like this forever. Bread is too important to me.)

Today is the beginning of a three-month long personal science experiment for me. I’m going to be following a strict diet (one that luckily still includes a ton of delicious food – thank God I learned to cook three years ago or I’d be screwed), practicing yoga daily, doing cardio (running at least a mile on the treadmill) every other day if at all possible, and taking many, many supplements over the next 90 days. If my regimen works, I’ll post what I did to get rid of this nasty bug. If not, I’ll continue to document my journey. I’m determined that I’m going to get rid of this thing in a year or less. We’ll see if I can do it!

Wish me luck,

– Lydia

