Come Along on My Journey…

by archeophysics

For the last few months I’ve been looking more deeply into the ways in which the things we use everyday can do harm to our health, and I wanted to share my experiences (and get your input!) as I slowly integrate more healthy products and habits into my everyday life – without breaking the bank.

A little about me: I’m currently a college student and an unpaid editorial intern, which makes cost-consciousness not only important but essential. I grew up and currently live in northern Virginia. I’m 24 years old, 105 lbs, 5’6″, omnivorous, of mixed race background, work out regularly (weight training and HIIT four times a week), am chronic disease-free (as far as I know), don’t smoke, drink alcohol socially, and am female. I have a slight heart arrhythmia (which is triggered by certain things, not a constant). Things that run in my family: High blood pressure, diabetes, heart disease. I have been on hormonal birth control since I was 16.

I feel that it’s important to include this information in case anyone wants to try the things that end up working for me – everyone is different, so it helps to know as much as you can about a person’s history and background to learn why it might the best choice for them and why something else, or a modified version of the same thing, might be the best choice for you. I love dogs, cooking, reading, and traveling.

I can’t wait to share what I’ve learned! I’m looking forward to getting to know you guys.

Sincerely,

– Lydia

 

P.S. – I am in no way a science denier. I’m a huge fan of science. Everything I do on this blog will be supported by scientific studies published in scholarly journals. I believe in vaccination and that GMOs and regular food are nutritionally equivalent.  I just think there are better ways to do things than expecting to stuff a bunch of chemicals in your body and then not change anything else about your unhealthy habits and have the chemicals work for you.

